Jump to content




Photo
- - - - -

Is there a way to set DDRAW = 0 globally?


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 09 February 2014 - 05:06 AM

Hi,

 

Something that's been known for a while is becoming more "need to do", which is set DDRAW = 0 for all VPM games.  I did a forum search but did not come across any posts that indicated a way to set DDRAW = 0 globally, ie: for all VPM games.

 

Did someone ever come up with a util that can do this?  It sucks to have it done on a per game basis.  Yeah, I realize there's also a change to the script that can be done however that's still needs to be done on a per table basis.

 

I thought of only doing it for tables that I felt "needed" it but if there's a way to do it in one shot, why not?  IE: since I use a real DMD, I see no purpose at all in having Direct Draw enabled.

 

Thanks,

 

Loaf



#2 arngrim

arngrim

    DJ Force Feedback

  • VIP
  • 2,149 posts
  • Location:Charleroi, Belgium

  • Flag: Belgium

  • Favorite Pinball: Monster bash



Posted 09 February 2014 - 05:44 AM

Yes, replace the default rom by one where you changed it, then for each rom not in the registry yet, it will take these default values, so delete all the others and they will be recreated like this

#3 DJRobX

DJRobX

    Pinball Fan

  • VP Dev Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Location:Valencia, CA

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: F14 Tomcat

Posted 09 February 2014 - 06:05 AM

Yeah, what I normally do is position, and get one table working the way I want, then rename it to 'default' in the registry (and delete all the others).   (HKEY_LOCAL_USER\Software\Freeware\Visual Pinmame). 



#4 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 09 February 2014 - 07:56 AM

Ouch, I think because I used one of those auto-sizers tools for the DMD a year or so ago it created an entry for every rom! LOL I guess I will need to delete them and restart.  No big deal, it's not like the high score is saved in there anyway.

 

Thanks, I appreciate this hint guys, very much!  Before I proceed and restart, is there something else I should be setting as a "default" setting in my first rom, aside from ddraw?



#5 koadic

koadic

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,363 posts
  • Location:Omaha, NE, USA

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Addams Family/Fish Tales/Medieval Madness



Contributor

Posted 09 February 2014 - 08:08 AM

You could also export the entries to a .reg file and just do a search and replace, then reimport it by double clicking the .reg file when done, of course in addition to making sure it is added to the default entry as well.

#6 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 09 February 2014 - 08:11 AM

Doh!  That's true I could do that too!  Thanks Koadic!  Appreciated.



#7 open6l

open6l

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 639 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: Canada

  • Favorite Pinball: TRON Legacy

Posted 09 February 2014 - 02:40 PM

Yeah - there's that awesome tool called SetDMD which sets options globally (like sizing and position and colors) for both the default rom and any installed ones. I've asked my old buddy if he can update it to include a switch for enabling/disabling DDRAW as well.


open6l___gaming.png


#8 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 09 February 2014 - 03:26 PM

That would be pretty cool, great tool open6l!

#9 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 09 February 2014 - 10:40 PM

You could also export the entries to a .reg file and just do a search and replace, then reimport it by double clicking the .reg file when done, of course in addition to making sure it is added to the default entry as well.


Right, took one minute and bam, all done. Thanks Koadic, completely forgot that those reg files Re editable!

#10 DJRobX

DJRobX

    Pinball Fan

  • VP Dev Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 931 posts
  • Location:Valencia, CA

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: F14 Tomcat

Posted 10 February 2014 - 12:47 AM

You might also check out turning ddraw = 0 and direct3d = 1.    I haven't seen a lot of discussion on direct3d mode, but I found it gives me the ability to stretch.   I think it scales more nicely than than ddraw=1, and it doesn't trigger the freezing bugs on my XP cab like ddraw=1 does.


Edited by DJRobX, 10 February 2014 - 12:49 AM.


#11 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 10 February 2014 - 12:54 AM

In my case I use a real DMD so I don't need to stretch DMD's.  Thanks though, lots of friends and family are getting into this and most won't be installing DMD's so your advice will come in handy DJRobX



#12 open6l

open6l

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 639 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: Canada

  • Favorite Pinball: TRON Legacy

Posted 27 April 2014 - 04:05 PM

Bigboss has updated his SetDMD tool to include the DDraw option as well as a few other options. Have a look at http://thebigboss.or...ade/setdmd.html


open6l___gaming.png


#13 The Loafer

The Loafer

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,444 posts
  • Location:Embrun, Ontario, Canada

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Superman, Firepower & Tron



Posted 27 April 2014 - 04:38 PM

An awesome tool made even better. Thanks BigBoss and open for the news!

#14 sifusun

sifusun

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Future Pinball

Posted 02 July 2017 - 02:20 PM

Hi pinball fans :)

 

I have a "stupid" question:   Is  the   DDRAW   issue  also related to VPX tables????   Or is is just a "relict" from the VP9 era ????

 

Thx for advice... best regards :)



#15 gtxjoe

gtxjoe

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 4,527 posts

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Medieval Madness, AbraCadabra



Contributor

Posted 02 July 2017 - 02:30 PM

I still use ddraw with VPX. You only have to turn it off if you use exclusive fullscreen mode

#16 sifusun

sifusun

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Future Pinball

Posted 02 July 2017 - 04:48 PM

I still use ddraw with VPX. You only have to turn it off if you use exclusive fullscreen mode

 

(I am not sure what this means, if I turn DDRAW off, but....)    To keep a long story short:   There are only advantages, if I turn it off, right???       :) :)


Edited by sifusun, 02 July 2017 - 04:48 PM.


#17 gtxjoe

gtxjoe

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 4,527 posts

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Medieval Madness, AbraCadabra



Contributor

Posted 02 July 2017 - 05:51 PM

Here is discussion on it
http://www.vpforums....showtopic=13290

To use VPX exclusive fullscreen, you have to turn it off

#18 sifusun

sifusun

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Future Pinball

Posted 02 July 2017 - 06:03 PM

Here is discussion on it
http://www.vpforums....showtopic=13290

To use VPX exclusive fullscreen, you have to turn it off

 

Thx gtxjoe...

 

Okay... I will have to read in those things carefully... there didn´t seem to be "the one and only solution" for it...

 

Best regards :)



#19 Ben Logan

Ben Logan

    Pinball Wizard

  • Silver Supporter
  • 2,226 posts
  • Location:California

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: System 11

Posted 03 July 2017 - 01:57 AM

I'll admit I'm still manually setting ddraw to zero for each individual table in regedit. I never was able to get global setting to work through creation of default table, or setting the one already named default to zero. So I'm curious like sifuson! :)

#20 xenonph

xenonph

    I have Pinball Dementia!

  • Silver Supporter
  • 2,582 posts
  • Location:Castle Rock, WA.

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: TRON Classic-Congo-Xenon-PINBOT-BOP-LOTR-A Real American Hero OPERATION PINBALL-Millionaire-Whirlwind-Krull-NFL-BlackKnight-FishTales

Contributor

Posted 03 July 2017 - 02:15 AM

You can also add to table script to shut off ddraw...

Here are a couple of examples...

 

    .Games(cGameName).Settings.Value("ddraw") = 0

 

or for tables using rom name in controller...

 

    Controller.Games("nfl").Settings.Value("ddraw") = 0

 

Substitute "nfl" with rom name used in table.

 

This info is for those who didn't know about this script command.


Edited by xenonph, 03 July 2017 - 02:17 AM.

CHECK OUT THIS TUTORIAL http://www.vpforums....howtopic=32515
TO USE DB2S BACKGLASS PROGRAM WITH DESKTOP TABLES ON 1 MONITOR