'Rasslin' Fan

• VPF Administrator
  • 12,186 posts

• Flag: United States of America

• Favorite Pinball: Whitewater

• PS3 Gamer Tag: noahfentz

Contributor

Posted 24 May 2009 - 07:11 AM

Noah Fentz: Thank you, JP, for taking time out of your day for this interview. It's certainly a pleasure.

jpsalas: smile.gif

Noah Fentz: Could you tell us a little about yourself and what you do?

jpsalas: I'm 50 years old. Married to a Norwegian lady, and we have a son (25 years old already). I work for the civil government in Oslo as a systems manager. I have about 60 servers and 450 users to take care of smile.gif

Noah Fentz: So, you work with computers all day?

jpsalas: Yes.

jpsalas: I have been doing that since 1984.

Noah Fentz: That's a lot of time in front of a computer, when you consider your VP time, as well.

jpsalas: I started working in Norsk data in 1984 (the ones who made the F16 simulators).

Noah Fentz: Wow, that's interesting!

Noah Fentz: In a typical week of designing, how many hours would you say you spend with VP?

jpsalas: About 4 hours a day, and a lot more in the weekends.

Noah Fentz: Now, I know from personal experience that sometimes a "significant other" can get unhappy with too much VP time. How does your wife handle all the time you spend on our great hobby?

jpsalas: Very nicely smile.gif. I bought her a new computer, I installed MSN, mIRC, e-mail, taught her to chat, and I have had no problem since (that 10 years ago) smile.gif

Noah Fentz: lol...If only I had thought of that!

----------------------------------

Noah Fentz: Now, you've mentioned to me that you never really played pinball...you mean NEVER?

jpsalas: Yes, I played when I was a kid, but I didn't play for 35 years, then I discovered VP, and I started playing from time to time, mostly in holidays.

Noah Fentz: What was the first pinball you recall playing?