Photo
- - - - -

OpenComposite fix - Performance boost for Oculus users!

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 AlMightyBob

AlMightyBob

Hobbyist

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

• Flag: ---------

• Favorite Pinball: Black Knight 2000

Posted 01 July 2020 - 02:27 AM

Hey folks, made a nice performance discovery today for Oculus users! There's a 3rd party project called OpenComposite that aims to streamline the additional computing load of having to run SteamVR-bound games (like VPXVR) through the Oculus runtime. It's been around a while but when used in VPXVR, it would simply freeze when loading most tables. No bueno.
I'm a rank amateur but I spent today playing with the VPXVR source code seeing what I could learn about it and Visual Studio seemed to point to a deadlock between a bunch of threads relating to sound functions when this crash occured. I couldn't make heads or tails of the multithreading code but later I saw that OpenComposite has an Audio Patching feature that can be optionally disabled. It's really just a minor convenience feature so it was worth a try and hey presto! Works fantastic!

The Fix
  1. Install OpenComposite as you normally would by simply replacing openvr_api.dll in your Visual Pinball folder with the one from the OC website. Delete the original or rename it in case you want to revert. https://gitlab.com/z...aster/README.md
  2. Create a new text file in the same folder called opencomposite.ini and inside it simply add the line enableAudio=false

Done! Devilishly simple.
My performance has gotten a significant boost on my AMD system with a Rift CV1. I can even crank the settings right up now! I think it should help with all Oculus devices but if folk can test it out and report back, that would be appreciated!