Jump to content




Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Pinball Arcade on Real DMD - Beta Testing

PinDMDv1 PinDMDv2 PinDMDv3 PIN2DMD The Pinball Arcade

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 freezy

freezy

    Member title

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: T2, TOM, AFM

Posted 29 April 2016 - 09:58 PM

Hi all,

 

Thanks to NoEx' hacking skills we have now TPA support in dmdext:

 

dmdext-tpa.png

 

It works by reading TPA's memory and pulling frames from the DMD's texture. Which is insanely fast and doesn't need any configuration on TPA's side at all.

 

As usual you can grab it here. Make sure you run it as admin and that's it, you should have it on your PinDMDv1-3 & [Pin2DMD uses stolen and/or infringes IP. PinDMD is the genuine product ;) ]. There are still bugs (as you see in the screenshot, the last row is rendered slightly darker) and we still need to figure out how to deal with EM games and non 128x32 games like Frankenstein.

 

You can find the project site with more detailed information here.

 

Enjoy and don't hold back any cabinet shots / videos! :)


Edited by freezy, 29 April 2016 - 09:59 PM.


#2 roar

roar

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 451 posts

  • Flag: Canada

  • Favorite Pinball: TOM

Posted 30 April 2016 - 12:25 AM

Whoa... Another amazing update. Looking forward to getting this going!

#3 TerryRed

TerryRed

    Pinball Fan

  • Silver Supporter
  • 907 posts

  • Flag: Canada

  • Favorite Pinball: Too many to choose...

Contributor

Posted 30 April 2016 - 01:06 AM

I don't have a real DMD, but I am soo happy to see this mod for both TPA and PFX2. Good work! If one day I do get a real DMD, then this would certainly make me feel better for that purchase!

 

Yes, lets see some of your awesome cabs showing this off!



#4 freezy

freezy

    Member title

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: T2, TOM, AFM

Posted 30 April 2016 - 04:46 PM

Finally got around setting up the free cam mod!

 

tpa_pindmd3.jpg

 

tpa_pindmd3-2.jpg

 

Master of the Universe on second game, haha!


Edited by freezy, 30 April 2016 - 04:51 PM.


#5 atarian

atarian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

  • Flag: France

  • Favorite Pinball: EMs

Posted 30 April 2016 - 05:09 PM

Awesome stuff. That was quick! Can't wait to try it. Cheers freezy and NoEx. :)

#6 mpad

mpad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 335 posts

  • Flag: Germany

  • Favorite Pinball: AFM, TOM; Timeshock (!), Secrets of the Deep (fx2)

Posted 30 April 2016 - 09:29 PM

You guys ROCK!!!

#7 moewe

moewe

    Hobbyist

  • Platinum Supporter
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Vienna

  • Flag: Austria

  • Favorite Pinball: AFM, RfM, Scared Stiff

  • PS3 Gamer Tag: moewe

Posted 01 May 2016 - 08:12 AM

also from me a BIG thank you to noex, freezy and russdx.
it is really great what you have done.
Even if my cab isn't 100% finished it makes so much different when i play now the tables from TPA or FX2.

ZACCARIA PINBALL is on IndieGoGo!  http://igg.me/at/a-B...HqLI/x/13369837


#8 CaptFlam

CaptFlam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

  • Flag: Turkey

  • Favorite Pinball: Addams Family

Posted 01 May 2016 - 07:10 PM

:otvclap: Great job Freezy ! Will try it with my [Pin2DMD uses stolen and/or infringes IP. PinDMD is the genuine product ;) ] soon. Just got my cabinet key for pbfx.
Now I have to add TPA to my cab. Will it also work with the --use-gray4 setting to
use colorize settings with TPA ?



#9 freezy

freezy

    Member title

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: T2, TOM, AFM

Posted 01 May 2016 - 09:53 PM

 Yeah but you still need to set the color with the [Pin2DMD uses stolen and/or infringes IP. PinDMD is the genuine product ;) ] tool, didn't come around implementing that in dmdext yet.



#10 freezy

freezy

    Member title

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: T2, TOM, AFM

Posted 03 May 2016 - 08:43 PM

New version v1.2.2.

 

Fixes last row bug in TPA (thanks NoEx) and has some performance improvments (thanks X-fact0r).



#11 Totaltimo

Totaltimo

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Location:Wolfenbuettel - Germany

  • Flag: Germany

  • Favorite Pinball: Cirqus Voltaire

Posted 11 May 2016 - 08:44 AM

Last evening I was trying for hours to bring the DMD to life with PinballArcade and PinballX.

The problem: dmdext waits for PinballArcade DX11, while PinballX starts the "normal" PinballArcade. Hence, dmdext waits for a DMD that never comes because of the wrong version of PinballArcade.

I already tried to rename PinballArcadeDX11.exe to PinballArcade.exe. PinballX really starts the DX11 version of PBA, but nevertheless, dmdext finds nothing to send to my PinDMD3.

 

Either dmdext gets an option to look for PinballArcade (without DX11) or PBX gets an option to start PBA DX11......

I got it to work when starting PBA DX11 directly from Steam whithout PBX.

 

What am I doing wrong?

 

Nevertheless: Thanks for this great tool, it works perfectly with my PinballFX2 !!!  :otvclap:



#12 freezy

freezy

    Member title

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: T2, TOM, AFM

Posted 11 May 2016 - 09:05 AM

Hmm not sure why anyone would want to run the non-DX11 version of TPA. As far as I know, FreeCam mod also only works with DX11. Did you ask over at GameEx? Which version of TPA are people using when launching through PBX?

#13 Totaltimo

Totaltimo

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Location:Wolfenbuettel - Germany

  • Flag: Germany

  • Favorite Pinball: Cirqus Voltaire

Posted 11 May 2016 - 09:23 AM

PBX starts the non-DX11 Version of PBA. Or to be more precise: It does on my computer ;-)

If anyone can tell me how to start the DX11 version with PBX: You are welcome :-)



#14 FRAQATTAQ

FRAQATTAQ

    Hobbyist

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts

  • Flag: Germany

  • Favorite Pinball: Star Trek TNG

Posted 11 May 2016 - 05:26 PM

PBX starts the non-DX11 Version of PBA. Or to be more precise: It does on my computer ;-)

If anyone can tell me how to start the DX11 version with PBX: You are welcome :-)

 

in steam, click the right mouse button on TBA, there you can select the DX11 version



#15 Totaltimo

Totaltimo

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Location:Wolfenbuettel - Germany

  • Flag: Germany

  • Favorite Pinball: Cirqus Voltaire

Posted 12 May 2016 - 07:12 AM

 

PBX starts the non-DX11 Version of PBA. Or to be more precise: It does on my computer ;-)

If anyone can tell me how to start the DX11 version with PBX: You are welcome :-)

 

in steam, click the right mouse button on TBA, there you can select the DX11 version

 

 

Yes, but as far as I know, that doesn't affect the version being startet from PBX. It's a "Steam-only-solution" to select DX11. PBX starts the non-DX11 version. At least on my PC.

I want to start the DX11 version with PBX (in order to use dmdext), and I have no idea how......



#16 atarian

atarian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

  • Flag: France

  • Favorite Pinball: EMs

Posted 07 June 2016 - 04:50 PM

Thanks again freezy for all your work on DMDExt. I am using it a fair bit.

Just an idea. I think you added a command line option to show text. What would be really nice is to have the ability to have animated text and transitions driven from the command line and/or through an XML file. HyperDMD used to be great for this but only works with PinDMD1. From what I understand about UltraDMD it only uses VBscript.

I guess it would be a lot of work to implement transitions but maybe a simple scrolling text option is possible?

#17 freezy

freezy

    Member title

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: T2, TOM, AFM

Posted 07 June 2016 - 06:26 PM

Good to know!

 

Any way you can create an issue on GitHub about it? Tends to get lost less frequently :)

 

Also if you could describe a use case, that would be awesome, I think I understand what you want (although it's becoming more and more XDMD turf), so I'd like to know a case where it would make sense to have this kind of feature in dmdext.



#18 freneticamnesic

freneticamnesic

    A Faint Ghost Through the Raindrops

  • VIP
  • 3,249 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Star Trek, Black Hole, AFM, Fast Draw, Tron, AMH

  • 360 Gamer Tag: sixgunsounddd

Posted 07 June 2016 - 06:47 PM

righteous.



#19 rothbauerw

rothbauerw

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin - USA

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Dr Who, Tee'd Off, Jive Time

Posted 12 June 2016 - 10:41 PM

Will this work with PBA and a virtual DMD?  I've tried 

 

dmdext mirror --source=pinballarcad

 

but the virtual DMD isn't mirroring the PBA dmd. It doesn't update at all.



#20 kruge99

kruge99

    Pinball Wizard

  • VPF Staff
  • 3,901 posts
  • Location:Markham, Ont.

  • Flag: Canada

  • Favorite Pinball: Black Knight, High Speed and Pin*Bot



Posted 13 June 2016 - 05:02 PM

I no longer have a cabinet but I still have my PinDMDv3 connected to my gaming PC.  Can this be used in desktop mode for both Pinball FX2 and TPA?

 

Best Regards,

Kruge99.


[proud owner of a Williams Solar Fire]

- It's called "The American Dream" because you have to be asleep to believe it.
George Carlin
- Truly great madness cannot be achieved without significant intelligence.
Henrik Tikkanen
- "Reality check, Michelle, Talk about composure, Total lack of. He's a man-- About-- 12 Feet Tall--"
Carrie Kelly
Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: PinDMDv1, PinDMDv2, PinDMDv3, PIN2DMD, The Pinball Arcade