#1 DDH69

DDH69

Pinball Wizard

• Platinum Supporter
  • 3,068 posts

• Flag: Australia

• Favorite Pinball: Monster Bash

Posted 11 February 2015 - 09:42 AM

I’m a relative newbie to the community and am seeking some advice about the computer part of my cabinet build.  I’m experienced in building PCs, but no expert on graphics cards nor the practical load pinballing will place upon a PC.

I’m setting up a 3 screen cabinet.  I have the 46” TV already and will run it via HDMI from the additional graphics card.  I will run the 28” back screen and 17” DMD screen from the motherboard video outputs.  Going with Windows 8.1, 4Gb RAM and a 250 Gb SSD hard drive.

I plan to run VP and FP with Hyperpin front end.  I’m also very keen to explore the 3D (Wii remote or camera) with FP at some stage so clearly need some reasonable processing power to do this.

The bits I’m mainly seeking some opinions on are:

Gigabyte H97 Gaming 3

Gigabyte N730-2GI / N730SL-2GL DDR3 GT730 PCI-E VGA Card

Intel i3-4160

All thoughts welcome

DOFLinx
Contributions for equipment to help with ongoing DOFLinx development can be made here

#2 gamefixer

gamefixer

Pinball Fan

• Silver Supporter
  • 575 posts

• Flag: United States of America

• Favorite Pinball: BK2K

• PS3 Gamer Tag: gamefixer
  • 360 Gamer Tag: gamefixer

Posted 11 February 2015 - 12:24 PM

that 730 would probably be the only thing of concern in your lineup. I'd go with something along the lines of a 760 or better.

#3 stuzza

stuzza

Pinball Fan

• VIP
  • 572 posts

• Favorite Pinball: AFM, SS, ACDC, FG

Posted 11 February 2015 - 10:15 PM

I just upgraded my graphics card from an old Geforce GTS 450 1GB (plus used onboard gfx for 3rd screen) to a Geforce GTX 750 2GB.  I can now run all 3 screens off of the one card and haven't noticed any stutter issues in any tables so far.  I have an i5, 4GB, Windows 7 Pro 64b.

FREE High Resolution Pinball Artwork for your cabinet!
Forum Link:  http://www.vpforums....showtopic=26497