53 replies to this topic

#1 BigBoss

BigBoss

Pinball Fan

• VP Dev Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts

• Flag: ---------

• Favorite Pinball: Attack From Mars, Metallica, Theatre Of Magic, Shadow, Star Trek

Posted 23 May 2013 - 03:39 PM

Ok, so in short, I wrote an app that will enable you to show an image on your backglass monitor for pinball fx2 that can change for each table you select. However, this required a bit of system level hacking to get working. It is working well for me. Each time you select a different table in the pinball fx GUI, the backglass on the 2nd monitor updates with the appropriate table image. I am no graphic artist, so my table image pack (included) sucks. If someone wants to take the time to make better images, I strongly welcome it.  

I wrote this for myself and it does everything I need for myself. There is a lot to set up. The goal of this project was to enable backglass support in pinball fx2, for me. I never planned to actually release this. But some of you may want this feature. So I'll provide the app and layout what you need to do to make it work. Note, I apologize that the steps arent easier. I'm sure someone may come along here and simplify my guide. I'm a developer not a document writer :)

As for the actual images, they are simply the name of the table file used +.bmp. Use this pattern for those making new and better images.

Current limitations:
1) Images must be in MS Paint BMP format. You can edit them in whatever you want, but open and save them in paint before running.

2) System must be capable of running gpedit.msc. Some basic versions of Windows dont provide this. There are probably manual registry keys that can be changed to provide the same functionality. In short, we need to be able to enable system security audit object access.