Jump to content




Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

usb dot matrix driver board - who wants one?


  • Please log in to reply
1473 replies to this topic

#181 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:39 PM

glad u like it hacker smile.gif thanks for testing smile.gif

one thing we found was DONT use dodgy usb cables or it will causes frame issues smile.gif


got all my components apart from the mini smd usb connectors the second they turn up i will be sending it all off the pcb assembly company smile.gif

hopefully have 35 more working boards quite soon smile.gif

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com


#182 Arcade4

Arcade4

    Pinball Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,686 posts
  • Location:Beaumont, TX.

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: AC/DC

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:15 PM

QUOTE (H4CK3R @ Feb 16 2012, 07:54 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


All I can say is that I am in LOVE...

Making a quick video and Ill post soon.



H4CK3R


Thanks for the videos.
I wonder if this post will make it past the Destruk censor machine. smile.gif

#183 H4CK3R

H4CK3R

    Enthusiast

  • Silver Supporter
  • 185 posts

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Tales from the Crypt

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:39 PM



#184 arngrim

arngrim

    DJ Force Feedback

  • VIP
  • 2,122 posts
  • Location:Charleroi, Belgium

  • Flag: Belgium

  • Favorite Pinball: Monster bash



Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:49 PM

Awesome, I can't wait to make mine run smile.gif

May I ask you to post a screenshot of your wiring H4CK3R?

Arngrim

#185 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 16 February 2012 - 06:01 PM

quick note all that flickering can NOT be seen in person its due to frame rate of the camera not sync with dmd display frame rate (which is quite low)

the 3 colours are flat and smooth in real in person smile.gif

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com


#186 Flying Dutchman

Flying Dutchman

    Pinball Wizard

  • VIP
  • 3,073 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: Medieval Madness / Champion Pub



Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:06 PM

Please put me down for one russdx .. shipping to Belgium.

Also (very) interested in the 'DPS' ('Dad's Power Supply') to be used in conjunction with an ordinary DMD ..

Cheers,
FD.

Edited by Flying Dutchman, 16 February 2012 - 07:23 PM.

'Flying Dutchman'

In need for a Backglass or 'Active Backglass / UVP' please 'click' on below and visit the complete revised website at:
Posted Image

#187 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:25 PM

added ya to my preOrder list bud

DPS - i like it lol smile.gif

this inital schematic is finished and he has ordered all the prototyping parts. so that project is coming along nicely, but is still quite a few months off!! smile.gif we will try our hardest to get it working through as a 12v original plasma dmd kit would be very useful (even i want one!!!)

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com


#188 bent98

bent98

    Pinball Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:NY

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Roadshow, Haunted House, Safe Cracker

Posted 16 February 2012 - 07:49 PM

QUOTE (russdx @ Feb 16 2012, 08:25 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
added ya to my preOrder list bud

DPS - i like it lol smile.gif

this inital schematic is finished and he has ordered all the prototyping parts. so that project is coming along nicely, but is still quite a few months off!! smile.gif we will try our hardest to get it working through as a 12v original plasma dmd kit would be very useful (even i want one!!!)


I assume dpending what dmd you choose will dictate game compatability? For example SEGA had different size DMD's then Stern. How could you display different manufacturs DMDs on the 5v one?

#189 H4CK3R

H4CK3R

    Enthusiast

  • Silver Supporter
  • 185 posts

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Tales from the Crypt

Posted 16 February 2012 - 08:40 PM

QUOTE (bent98 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:49 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (russdx @ Feb 16 2012, 08:25 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
added ya to my preOrder list bud

DPS - i like it lol smile.gif

this inital schematic is finished and he has ordered all the prototyping parts. so that project is coming along nicely, but is still quite a few months off!! smile.gif we will try our hardest to get it working through as a 12v original plasma dmd kit would be very useful (even i want one!!!)


I assume dpending what dmd you choose will dictate game compatability? For example SEGA had different size DMD's then Stern. How could you display different manufacturs DMDs on the 5v one?





#190 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 16 February 2012 - 08:41 PM

there are only 5 games out of all the dmd games that use the large 192x64.
my board DOES support the 192x64 display if you choose to buy this!

but i would recommend just buying the much much cheaper 128x32 displays.

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com


#191 bent98

bent98

    Pinball Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:NY

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Roadshow, Haunted House, Safe Cracker

Posted 17 February 2012 - 12:22 AM

QUOTE (russdx @ Feb 16 2012, 09:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
there are only 5 games out of all the dmd games that use the large 192x64.
my board DOES support the 192x64 display if you choose to buy this!

but i would recommend just buying the much much cheaper 128x32 displays.



What are the five tables?

And how does the 192x64 DMD display the 128x32 tables? Do you have a video of that senario?


Edited by bent98, 17 February 2012 - 12:23 AM.


#192 penguins

penguins

    Hobbyist

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts

  • Flag: Canada

  • Favorite Pinball: Shrek

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:06 AM

QUOTE (bent98 @ Feb 17 2012, 12:22 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (russdx @ Feb 16 2012, 09:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
there are only 5 games out of all the dmd games that use the large 192x64.
my board DOES support the 192x64 display if you choose to buy this!

but i would recommend just buying the much much cheaper 128x32 displays.



What are the five tables?

And how does the 192x64 DMD display the 128x32 tables? Do you have a video of that senario?


+1

#193 destruk

destruk

    VPF Veteran

  • VPF Staff
  • 6,296 posts
  • Location:Colorado Springs, CO

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Ultrapin!



Posted 17 February 2012 - 06:05 AM

QUOTE (russdx @ Feb 16 2012, 12:25 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
added ya to my preOrder list bud


Have you been able to merge the cabinet dll options into your code? Or vice-versa?

Build a fire, vipers love the heat.


#194 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 17 February 2012 - 09:56 AM

192x64 scaling has not been written yet (so busy just getting that first batch manufactured hehe)

hey destruk
no have not had time to go over your code yet and merge into mine / merge mine into yours sad.gif
i will get round to this though smile.gif

If your free some time maybe you could have a go at including my 1 extra .c file in your project?

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com


#195 bent98

bent98

    Pinball Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:NY

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Roadshow, Haunted House, Safe Cracker

Posted 17 February 2012 - 12:38 PM

QUOTE (russdx @ Feb 17 2012, 10:56 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
192x64 scaling has not been written yet (so busy just getting that first batch manufactured hehe)

hey destruk
no have not had time to go over your code yet and merge into mine / merge mine into yours sad.gif
i will get round to this though smile.gif

If your free some time maybe you could have a go at including my 1 extra .c file in your project?


I am curious what the five games are that use the 192x64 DMD and also when you may get around to adding the scaling code. I would like too see how it looks scaled down. It may push move over the edge to get your dongle.


#196 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 17 February 2012 - 12:56 PM

the games are

baywatch
batman
maverick
frankenstein

i dont know what the 5th one is


im not sure how im gonna scale it, but basically its gonna look SHIT scaled. you cant play a 192x64 pixel game on a 128x32 and there's nothing i can do about it sad.gif apart from suggest you buy the 192x64 dmd

i will try and skip every other row/column and will also try just cutting a window out of the 192x64.

but its gonna look shit what ever i do sad.gif

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com


#197 arngrim

arngrim

    DJ Force Feedback

  • VIP
  • 2,122 posts
  • Location:Charleroi, Belgium

  • Flag: Belgium

  • Favorite Pinball: Monster bash



Posted 17 February 2012 - 01:03 PM

QUOTE (Arcade4 @ Feb 16 2012, 12:14 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (BarryS @ Feb 15 2012, 03:48 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (arngrim @ Feb 15 2012, 10:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'm quite surprised to see the back of your Vishay led Arcade4, here's the one of my vishay led orange, the LEE-128G032-1



Will the wiring be different than yours?


This looks like a DMD replacement for a standard Pinball, not the +5 V one.



Just looked at the data sheet for that board.
I would guess you will just use the connection on J3 and not all the silver pins on J1
It does state it is only 5volts.
So from the below schematic, I would guess you would just need Pin 4 on J3 as your 5 volt and Pin 3 on J3 as your ground. (Somebody, correct me if this is not right).
http://www.vishay.co...84/lee128g0.pdf


Hello H4CK3R,

Do you confirm this is how you connect your vishay led orange with the power supply? (The pin 2 of the J3 is also a ground, do you use it?)

Thanks

Arngrim


#198 H4CK3R

H4CK3R

    Enthusiast

  • Silver Supporter
  • 185 posts

  • Flag: United States of America

  • Favorite Pinball: Tales from the Crypt

Posted 17 February 2012 - 03:40 PM





#199 gbeef

gbeef

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts

  • Flag: ---------

  • Favorite Pinball: adams

Posted 17 February 2012 - 05:55 PM

I would like to preorder or order one of these can you add me to the list.


#200 russdx

russdx

    Pinball Fan

  • VIP
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Bristol UK

  • Flag: United Kingdom

  • Favorite Pinball: twilight zone

Posted 17 February 2012 - 06:28 PM

added smile.gif

pinDMD3 Now Available!
Videos of pinDMD in action | www.pinDMD.com