Darkfall

Enthusiast

• Gold Supporter
  • 453 posts

• Flag: Canada

• Favorite Pinball: Attack From Mars, Scared Stiff

Posted 19 September 2011 - 06:55 AM

Hi guys,

After building a pinball cabinet with an LEDWiz built into it to control all kinds of real-world devices, such as multi-color flashers, buttons, contactors for force feedback, and a replay knocker (and eventually a shaker motor and maybe a wiper motor), I started playing with all of my new toys.

I ran into a couple of problems, however:

1. If I were to exit a table that was in the middle of turning things off and on, anything on at the time would stay on. A few high-power CREE flashers being on can pull a fair bit of power, which causes not only them to heat up, but the LEDWiz itself to heat up. Leaving some solenoids on for too long leads to them getting quite warm, too. Being concerned about burning out components, I wanted a way to shut all of the LEDWiz output off when exiting a table.

2. The LEDWiz stuff for HyperPin was a challenge to make work, and was quite simplistic in it's abilities once it was working. I wanted much more control over things while browsing tables - I wanted my flipper buttons to be whatever color I wanted, and I wanted them to be on solid, rather than flashing. I also wanted my Start button to flash, but my Launch Ball button to be on solid. Once a table loads, it will reset everything to the way it wants it, but during browsing, I wanted things the way I wanted it. I shared my work with a few people for testing. One of them (maxxsinner) took my code a step further and created a form of "attract mode" that runs while browsing tables (he had his backbox flashers light up and pulse on and off, which helps draw attention to the pinball machine).